Gidday from Esperance

• About me? I'm a retail butcher shop owner and self taught smallgoodswoman. My husband and I have owned our shop in Esperance WA for the last nearly 12 years and I ventured into the world of specialty cured & dried meats about 6 years ago. Without tooting my own horn - we have created some very fine traditional small goods and won multiple awards at both Perth Royal Show and Sydney Royal Show and just recently picked up State Champion for my Basturma (if anyone knows what that is)

I have a love for all things meat and have finally caught up with the rest of the world to start tinkering with smoking meat - and my next challenge is learning to make Cheese.

Cheers!

Once you put my meat in your mouth, you're going to want to swallow.

Edited once, last by PLButcher ().

• Welcome aboard, great to have another cured meats fan on the forum!

Masterbuilt Gravity 800 | Maximus Pizza Oven | GMG - Daniel Boone | Cyprus Grill | Big Steel Keg | Blackstone Griddle | Fire Pit | Weber Genesis |

• Welcome aboard, great to have another cured meats fan on the forum!

Cheers mate!

I'm constantly trying new things and variations of recipes although most of what I make currently will stay as I make them - maybe play with flavourings a little but keeping pretty traditional. My current repertoire encompasses:

Prosciutto De Lago Rosa (my own name for the Pink Lake our shop is named for)

Culatello

Rumpetto

Fiocco Di Prosciutto

Coppa

Capicollo

Lonzino

Basturma

Bresaola

Pancetta

and Guanciale

But always looking for something new.

We also make Salami, our own Hams, Wet Cured Bacon and Dry Cured Nitrate Free Bacon (flavours including Coffee, Chilli, Jalapeño and Peanut Butter) and Traditional South African Boerewors, Biltong and Dröewors as well and a variety of Smoked Cabanossi.... so yeah that keeps us pretty busy on top of the Butchering side of things lol.

• That list is amazing. Guanciale, Culatello and bresaola being my favourites.